Department of Anthropology

Navigation + Search
Home / About Us / People



Name Title Email Phone
Katia Almeida-Tracy Instructor 216.368.2279
Cynthia Beall Distinguished University Professor and Sarah Idell Pyle Professor of Anthropology; Co-Director, Center for Research on Tibet 216.368.2277
Atwood Gaines Professor; Professor of Psychiatry and Professor of Bioethics, School of Medicine; Professor of Nursing, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing 216.368.2257
Melvyn C. Goldstein John Reynolds Harkness Professor; Co-Director, Center for Research on Tibet; Professor of International Health, School of Medicine 216.368.2265
Lawrence Greksa Professor and Chair of Anthropology 216.368.6777
Vanessa Hildebrand Assistant Professor 216.368.2630
Lee Hoffer Associate Professor 216.368.2631
Jill Korbin Lucy Adams Leffingwell Professor; Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences; Director, Schubert Center for Child Studies; Co-Director, Childhood Studies Program; President-elect Society for Psychological Anthropology 216.368.4413
Janet McGrath Professor; Director of Graduate Programs; Associate Professor of International Health, School of Medicine 216.368.2287
Jim Shaffer Associate Professor 216.368.2267
Lihong Shi Assistant Professor 216.368.5362

Emeriti Faculty

Name Title Email
Charlotte Ikels Professor of Anthropology Emerita


Adjunct Faculty

Name Title Email
Nicole M. Burt Adjunct Assistant Professor, Curator of Human Health & Evolutionary Medicine, Cleveland Museum of Natural History
Jennifer Furin Adjunct Assistant Professor; Lecturer, Department of Global Health and Social Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Bridget M. Haas Adjunct Assistant Professor
Yohannes Haile-Selassie Ambaye Adjunct Professor; Curator and Head of Physical Anthropology, Cleveland Museum of Natural History
David Kaawa-Mafigiri Adjunct Assistant Professor
Brian G. Redmond Adjunct Associate Professor; John Otis Hower Chair of Archaeology, Cleveland Museum of Natural History
Richard Currie Smith Adjunct Assistant Professor

Secondary Faculty

Name Title Email
Alanna Cooper Assistant Professor, Jewish Studies Program Manager, Laura and Alvin Siegal Lifelong Learning Program
Patricia A. Marshall Professor, Department of Bioethics, School of Medicine
Marianne Reeves Part-Time Lecturer, Department of Anthropology
Scott W. Simpson Professor, Department of Anatomy, School of Medicine
James C. Spilsbury Assistant Professor & Director, Academic Development Core, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Center for Clinical Investigation, School of Medicine

Postdoctoral Scholars and Research Associates

Name Title Email Phone
Daphna Gross-Manos Postdoctoral Scholar


Name Title Email Phone
Kimberly Racut Secretary 216.368.8605
Barbara Reebel Secretary 216.368.3703
Linda Rinella Department Administrator 216.368.2264
Page last modified: November 30, 2016